Sign In
« Back to news list
Cowboys sweep tournament over holidays

The McCollum Boys Varsity Basketball Team is coming off a big weekend, winning five straight games to take the annual Edgewood tournament. The Cowboys defeated 4-A powerhouse Kerrville Tivy 51-46 in the championship game November 23. Earlier and the day before they had also beaten Kennedy HS 68-48, Hawkins HS 77-31, Burbank HS58-55 and Memorial HS 58-50.

The following players received tournament honors:
Joey Villarreal-Most Valuable Player (MVP)
Nate Martinez - Offensive MVP
Stevie Villarreal-All Tournament Team
Tre Johnson-All Tournament Team

The team also includes Fernando Huerta, David Martinez, Cosmo Cantu, Angel Loera, Danny Lerma, Mike Leal, Nate Aguero, Jared Lopez, Robert Salas, JD Ramos, Santiago Vasquez, Roger Martinez. The head coach is Luke Mackay.